After 1124, the castle became the family property of the Counts of Sponheim. At first, it probably served to secure and expand the Sponheim territory, which stretched from the Moselle over the Hunsrück to the near region. From the 14th century onwards, the complex lost its strategic importance and was converted into a residence. Structural remains suggest that the residential tower still preserved today dates back to the 14th/15th century. The tower has a base area of 18 x 12 meters and consisted of three floors. It is even assumed that there was a fourth floor with a battlement. In 1698, the castle was completely destroyed in the course of the Palatinate War of Succession. Where the castle chapel once stood, the Protestant church built in 1701 now rises. The inconspicuous baroque building contains a real art treasure. Of the wooden ceiling, which was originally completely painted, only the large-figure painting in the choir vault has been preserved. It shows the "Transfiguration of Christ" on Mount Tabor. The painting in the choir vault and the panels on the gallery parapet are probably from the workshop of Johann Georg Engisch, Kirn (1668-1741).
The medieval Dill Castle in ARGO - relive the past Experience the building digitally reconstructed at the authentic site on your smartphone or tablet with the ARGO app! Download the free app: www.ar-route.eu Visits and guided tours by appointment: Tel. 06763 1339.
Further information: Tourist Information Kirchberg (Hunsrück), Tel. 06763 910144. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)